You may think that a ticket for reckless driving is not that big of a deal. You pay your fine and get on with your life, but you have to be careful. In many states, reckless driving can simply mean that you were traveling well in excess of the speed limit. This can be as little as 20 miles over the speed limit. If you walk into court and plead guilty, you will have a criminal record because reckless driving may not be considered a traffic offense.
An example of reckless driving in Virginia
In the state of Virginia, reckless driving is categorized as a class one misdemeanor. In other words, it is a criminal offense. If this is the only information you have, then you should know that you need to contact a fairfax reckless driving lawyer after getting cited for this offense, but there is more. It carries with it a hit of six Department of Motor Vehicle points and a suspension of your license for as long as six months. Along with this, you can be fined as much as $2,500 dollars and sentenced to as long as a year in jail. And to make matters worse, this type of conviction will stay on your driving record for 11 years. The criminal conviction will be permanent.
There are two types of reckless driving
There is reckless driving speed, which in Virginia can be as little as 20 miles per hour over the speed limit, and there is reckless driving general. This latter type of driving can mean swerving from one lane to the next or any number of things you do while driving that do not relate directly to speed. The important thing to remember is that as a class one misdemeanor; it is equal to driving under the influence, so the consequences will be harsh. For this reason, you need to take this seriously.
The important thing to keep in mind is that reckless driving is a serious problem, so you need to consult with an attorney. A lawyer may not be able to get you out of the situation completely, but they can often mitigate the consequences of a reckless driving charge.